Romain Berrou, Finagri Chair

Doctoral student at IAE Paris Doctoral School of Management of Paris Sorbonne FINAGRI Chair

Thesis: Understanding the difference in market behaviour between green financial products and traditional financial products.


Post-baccalaureate business school IESEG followed by a Master's degree at ESCP in Management associated with specialized courses in finance.

Testimony of Romain Berrou

What is your background and how would you describe it, more academic, or in relation to the business world ?

I have a somewhat unusual background, starting with a post-baccalaureate business school IESEG in Paris, which allowed me to discover all the sectors of the company. I then took a year off in China and Colombia where I worked for two startups, one on organic food and the second on ecological construction.

It was rewarding to discover companies with an extra-financial objective. I then continued my studies with a Master’s degree in Management at ESCP, also taking specialised courses in finance. It was in this context that I was led to carry out a research project on Impact Investing, the aim of which is to focus on investment funds specialising in projects with an extra-financial impact.

During this quarter, I had the opportunity to interview about thirty professionals in France, Europe and even the world who are also working on these issues. It was also on this occasion that I met Professor Philippe Dessertine with whom I am doing my PhD today.

 

What is the subject of your thesis and how does it fit into the strategy of the company that currently employs you on fixed-term contracts ?

I joined the Finagri Chair of the IAE in 2016. The general theme is to understand the difference in market behaviour between green financial products and traditional financial products.

The principle of the research chair is to bring together agricultural cooperatives, such as Invivo, France’s leading agricultural cooperative group, INRA, the Institut National de Recherche Agronomique or the Avril cooperative, on the one hand, and financial players, such as insurers, on the other,

After a first phase where we focused on partners in agriculture, we will approach a second phase with more financial actors in the coming months to analyse how the capacity of capital to finance responsible agriculture can be improved.

There is also a technical and innovative dimension, as I am required to work with Data Science and Machine Learning tools on a daily basis. This new approach is made possible within the framework of the doctoral school, thanks to which we have access to large financial databases such as Bloomberg, Datastream, etc. Our objective is to cross-reference them with agricultural data in order to determine their economic relationships.

 

Can you explain to us what is Territory Startup and its importance for your research work ?

The IAE offered me the opportunity to give conferences and lectures on responsible finance: how green finance will change the business model of banks, companies and its perspective of an international context with the UN for example.

The Chair also provided me with some rather exceptional opportunities, such as meeting the European Investment Bank, or in Bordeaux to exchange with the region to understand how responsible finance was beginning to interest professionals and offer possibilities for implementation. Eventually, the concrete application of the results of my thesis will certainly lead me to contact the alumni list and more generally the IAE network.

img-profil

Camille Henrion, Clus’Ter Jura

Doctoral student at IAE Paris Doctoral School of Management of Paris Sorbonne

img-profil

Christophe Sabet

Responsible of Financing and R&D Partnerships

keyboard_arrow_up

Romain Berrou, chaire Finagri

Doctorant à l’IAE Paris Sorbonne Business School - Chaire FINAGRI

Thèse : comprendre la différence de comportement sur les marchés entre les produits financiers verts et les produits financiers traditionnels


Ecole de commerce post-bac IESEG suivi d'un un Master à l’ESCP en Management associés à  des cours spécialisés en finance.

Témoignage de Romain Berrou

Quel est votre parcours et comment le qualifiez-vous, plutôt universitaire, ou en relation avec le monde de l'entreprise ?

J’ai un parcours un peu un peu particulier en commençant d’abord par une école de commerce post-bac IESEG à Paris, qui m’a permis de découvrir tous les secteurs de l’entreprise. J’ai fait ensuite une année de césure en Chine et en Colombie où j’ai travaillé pour deux startups, une sur la nourriture Bio et la seconde sur la construction écologique.

C’était enrichissant de découvrir des entreprises ayant un objectif extra-financier. Ensuite, j’ai poursuivi mon cursus avec un Master à l’ESCP en Management en suivant également des cours spécialisés en finance. C’est dans ce cadre, que j’ai été amené à mener un travail de recherche sur l’Impact Investing, dont l’objet est de se concentrer sur des fonds d’investissement spécialisés dans des projets ayant un impact extra-financier.

Lors de ce trimestre, j’ai eu l’occasion d’interviewer une trentaine de professionnels en France en Europe et même dans le monde travaillant également sur ces problématiques. C’est également à cette occasion que j’ai rencontré le professeur Philippe Dessertine avec lequel je réalise mon doctorat aujourd’hui.

 

Quel est le sujet de votre thèse et quoi elle s’intègre dans la stratégie de l'entreprise qui vous emploie aujourd’hui en CDD?

J’ai rejoint la Chaire Finagri de l’IAE en 2016. Le thème général consiste à comprendre la différence de comportement sur les marchés entre les produits financiers verts et les produits financiers traditionnels.

Le principe de la chaire de recherche est de permettre la rencontre entre les coopératives agricoles, comme avec Invivo, premier groupe coopératif agricole français, l’INRA, l’Institut National de Recherche Agronomique ou encore la coopérative Avril d’une part, et les acteurs financiers, comme par exemple les assureurs, d’autre part,

Après une première phase où nous nous sommes concentrés sur des partenaires dans l’agriculture, nous aborderons à une deuxième phase avec des acteurs plus financiers dans les mois à venir, de manière à analyser comment la capacité des capitaux pour financer une agriculture responsable.

Il y a aussi une dimension technique et innovante, car je suis amené au quotidien à travailler avec des outils de Data Science et de Machine Learning. Cette nouvelle approche est rendue possible dans le cadre de l’école doctorale, grâce à laquelle nous accédons à de grosses bases de données financières comme Bloomberg, Datastream…Nous avons ainsi pour objectif de les croiser avec des données de l’agriculture afin d’en déterminer les relations économiques.

 

Pouvez-nous expliquer ce qu'est Startup de Territoire et son importance pour vos travaux de recherche ?

L’IAE m’a offert l’opportunité de réaliser des conférences et interventions sur la finance responsable : en quoi la finance verte va-t-elle changer le business model des banques, des entreprises et sa mise en perspective d’un contexte international avec l’Onu par exemple.

La chaire m’a également apporté des occasions assez exceptionnelles, comme celle de rencontrer la Banque Européenne d’investissement, où à Bordeaux d’échanger avec la région pour comprendre en quoi la finance responsable commençait à intéresser les professionnels et offrait des possibilités de mise en application. A terme, l’application concrète des résultats de ma thèse va certainement m’amener à contacter la liste alumnis et plus généralement le réseau de l’IAE.

img-profil

Camille Henrion, Clus’Ter Jura

Doctorante à l’IAE Paris Sorbonne Business School

img-profil

Christophe Sabet

Responsable Financement et Partenariats R&D

keyboard_arrow_up